top of page
Search

Swallowtail


This picture was taken at the Minnesota Zoo's Aveda Butterfly Gardens. I believe it is a swallowtail of some sort. I can't find this exact pattern on the ID chart so I don't want to mistakenly ID it. So lets just say its a swallowtail. This was my first time at the butterfly gardens. The 3 years before, I went to the zoo either too early, too late, or it was closed for updates. So I was super excited to take any pictures, as butterflies were something new to me. Clearly, they're new to me, because its still a little blurry for what I was hoping would turn out. This butterfly was one of my favorites and most of the other ones weren't flying around as much so I had my eye on this one. Its all so much to pay attention to. You can't just walk around with your camera in your face because butterflies were landing on the path. You had to watch your step even if you were just inching forward. It was awesome. I had probably taken about 50 pictures of this particular butterfly, but they just kept coming out blurry or he'd fly behind something. Very difficult. So I just kept making my way around the path taking pictures of other butterflies and flora as I went, but promising myself that I'd go back and just wait for this butterfly. And that's exactly what I did. I had finished the loop and I saw this guy fluttering about in the same general area. So I shot a bunch of pictures. 10-15 of them. This was among one of the final pictures I took of this type of butterfly. And one of the last pictures I took before I made it out of there. I could have sat in there all day, though. Its too cool. Anyways, its all about patience.— at Minnesota Zoo.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page