top of page
Search

Kissing Prairie Dogs


This picture was taken at Blank Park Zoo in Des Moines, Iowa. They had a prairie dog exhibit with a dome in the center for kids to climb in and it would bring you to the center of the exhibit and you can stick your head up and get face to face with the animals. I, of course, wanted to get in there too. I crawled on my hands and knees being careful not to bump my camera on the ground. It was a very small tunnel. As I said, meant for children. I just started snapping shots of these two prairie dogs cleaning their faces and I didn’t even realize what I had gotten until I went through the last few I had taken while still in the dome. Ryan (my boyfriend) had been waiting back near the tunnel entrance. I turned slowly to him with a look of awe. I started pointing to my camera. “You won’t believe this.” And this is the shot I showed him that I got. How adorable? This is one of those pictures that I thought could be on a greeting card for something. People ask me all the time if it is photo-shopped The answer is yes. But its only on the background. And you can’t really call it photo-shopped I blurred and smudged the background because it had a fence in the background. I really love taking photos of animals, whether in a zoo or not. I just don’t like when you can see that the animal is fenced in. Little picket fences are ok. Chain-link fences are another story. No worries either, these little guys had plenty of room to roam. Great experience in the child dome too. :) — at Blank Park Zoo.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page